Sports in town for second summer friendly

Eastbourne Borough of the National League South are the opponents tonight for the second summer friendly of five at the Kuflink Stadium.

Managed by Jamie Howell, the Sports have recently recruited former Fleet midfielder Michael West and include Ian Simpemba in defence, starting his sixth season with the club as a player and now in a coaching role.

Borough’s summer recruitment has been fairly light so far so they will likely field a number of trialists in addition to first-teamers such as former Whitehawk pair Sergio Torres and Dave Martin; one-time teammate of Andy Drury’s at Stevenage, Yemi Odubade; and another ex-Fleet midfielder in the form of Kane Wills.

Eastbourne finished last season’s campaign 17th in the National South and this will be their second friendly at the Kuflink Stadium in the last four months, having lost 3-1 in a private practice match in March.

The Fleet reported no injury concerns following their week in Portugal and came through the 4-2 win over FC Ferreiras unscathed. Daryl McMahon hopes to include Jack Connors and trialist Freddy Moncur once more this evening with his full squad hoping to get a runout and maintain their unbeaten start to pre-season.

This will also be Eastbourne’s third friendly after they recorded a 5-2 win over neighbours Langney Wanderers and fell to a late goal on Saturday as Charlton’s U23s won 1-0 at Priory Lane.

Admission is £10 adults, £7 concessions and £5 juniors with U12s FREE when accompanied by a paying adult. Season tickets are not valid for pre-season friendlies. A 24-page programme, priced at £2, will be available this evening with the first of our four-part team-by-team preview of the National League season.

Fleet continue their summer schedule on Saturday v Gillingham, after which Cambridge United (24th July) and a Reading XI (28th July) take us into the National League campaign.


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkedin
Share on WhatsApp
Email this article

More News

match stats

Click to enlarge »

First-Team Squad