Paxman’s performances pick up player of season award

The winner of the 2020/21 Supporters’ Player of the Season Award – as voted for of course by Fleet supporters – can now be revealed as midfielder Jack Paxman.

The 27-year-old summer signing from Billericay Town came top of the poll after a healthy battle for top spot as the final tally was totted up following closure of our online voting on Thursday evening.

Paxman now joins that exclusive club of more than 40 Fleet players to have bagged the coveted player of the year award. He is the first player since Anthony Cook in 2013/14 to have won the award in his first season with the club.

The former Maidstone United player made 22 appearances in the curtailed season in all competitions, playing more minutes than any other squad member in 2020/21. And his debut goal for the Fleet came in a 2-1 away win at Billericay Town.

Jack was presented with his trophy by manager Dennis Kutrieb at this afternoon’s Beer Garden event at the Kuflink Stadium in front of assembled Fleet supporters. The Fleet boss said of the winner, “Jack Paxman is an example for astonishing performances. He was one of only a few players who came in for a trial and I was convinced after the first session… he has some special abilities and I never saw him before or did any video research on him. He’s a good boy on the pitch but to be fair, he’s a very lovely character off the pitch as well and that’s not easy to find! The best thing is, there is still lot of space to improve and I’m sure we’ll see a better Jack Paxman next season! A luxury situation for me as a manager and for us as a club! Well done son!”

John Snow (left) and Chris Judge (right) receive their awards from Fleet boss Dennis Kutrieb

In our other traditional annual recognition, the Fleet Supporters Trust handed over their Bruce Sewell Award for both the 2019/20 and 2020/21 seasons. Once again, Dennis did the presentation honours and the deserving recipients were Chris Judge (for 2019/20) and John Snow (for 2020/21).

The Bruce Sewell Award is in memory of the fondly remembered former Fleet skipper who passed away from Motor Neurone Disease in 2010. It is awarded annually by the Fleet Supporters’ Trust to someone who they select for outstanding contributions to the Fleet.

The award for 2019/20 has been made to Chris Judge in recognition of his sterling work in setting up the Walking Football section and all the work he has done at the ground, in particular his duties in preparing the old club offices for use as the Trust bar and office when they relocated from The Old Boardroom.

The award for 2020/2021 will be given to John Snow for his tremendous commitment during the whole of the Covid period by being at the ground most days and carrying out general maintenance and painting. He has carried on in this much-needed and appreciated voluntary role despite bad weather and diligently gets on with all tasks in hand. He has also been assisted by Chris Judge with the bigger tasks and woodwork, and latterly by Percy Scudder’s fantastic painting efforts.

Everyone at Ebbsfleet United FC congratulations all the recipients on their awards this season. On the pitch and off it, talent and hard work for the club and the cause is absolutely crucial to our future development – hearty congratulations to Jack, Chris and John!


Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on Linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on WhatsApp
Share on google
Share on Google+
Share on email
Email this article


Ed Miller

Ed Miller

Ed Miller has been Ebbsfleet United's communications manager and programme editor since 2014 and responsible for the club website since 2007. Contact him on

More News



To receive updates and offers from Fleet’s commercial department please enter your email here…

First-Team Squad