Nathan Ashmore scoops second player of the year award

Congratulations to Nathan Ashmore who becomes the first Fleet player this century to win the Supporters’ Player of the Year award in successive seasons.

And Nathan is the fourth player from our records* to win two player-of-the-year awards – fellow goalkeeper Paul Burnham won twice in 1985 and 1992; Jimmy Jackson did it in 1996 and 1998; and Joe Howe did the same in 2012 and 2015.

It’s a huge feat for any player to win the annual award but to do so in successive seasons – and against a remarkable list of players who have performed out of their skins this past two years – is truly testament to Nathan’s consistency and sheer brilliance between the posts. We’ve been blessed with some excellent goalkeepers down the years – from the very first one Cyril Gould, through Heathcote, Cowan, Smelt, Hepple, Turner, Cronin, Edwards and more – and Nathan Ashmore stands proud amongst every single one of them.

*Nathan’s feat of being the first player in the 21st century to win the award in consecutive seasons may even be a club record as the only man to ever do it, but we are missing a few player-of-the-year records from down the years and so are awaiting confirmation of that.

Nathan will be presented with his award before kick-off today.


Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on Linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on WhatsApp
Share on google
Share on Google+
Share on email
Email this article


Ed Miller

Ed Miller

Ed Miller has been Ebbsfleet United's communications manager and programme editor since 2014 and responsible for the club website since 2007. Contact him on

More News



To receive updates and offers from Fleet’s commercial department please enter your email here…

First-Team Squad