Fleet’s player of the year commits to the cause

Fleet goalkeeper Preston Edwards has signed a new contract, keeping him at Stonebridge Road throughout the forthcoming 2013-14 season. The news that last season’s popular No.1 – who won a clutch of player of the year awards – is staying on is sure to delight the Ebbsfleet faithful, among whom he has built up something of a cult following.

With Preston having returned from England C duty in Bermuda earlier this week, securing the future of the goalkeeper was a main priority for Fleet boss Steve Brown. The two wasted no time in negotiations, with Preston telling EUFC.co.uk: “I have been away on England duty where I was honoured to be selected as the England captain. The transformation in the club whilst I have been away is amazing and Steve Brown has made some really exciting signings. There is a real buzz around the club and I want to be a part of what we all hope could be an exciting future.”

Preston joined the club from Grays Athletic in the summer of 2010, following Lance Cronin’s move to Gillingham, and played a major part in promotion from the Blue Square South in his first season. He was a mainstay of the side that achieved 14th position in 2011-12 and, despite the disappointment of last season, was by some distance the outstanding performer – as recognised by his various awards.

With 129 games under his belt – and one record-breaking sending-off that catapulted him to internet stardom – Preston will once again be a key and charismatic figure in a much-changed Fleet squad this term.


Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on Linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on WhatsApp
Share on google
Share on Google+
Share on email
Email this article


Ed Miller

Ed Miller

Ed Miller has been Ebbsfleet United's communications manager and programme editor since 2014 and responsible for the club website since 2007. Contact him on ed.miller@eufc.co.uk

More News



To receive updates and offers from Fleet’s commercial department please enter your email here…

First-Team Squad