Congratulations to champions Eastleigh

Everyone at Ebbsfleet United would like to extend congratulations to Eastleigh FC after they clinched the Skrill South title yesterday with two games of the season to spare.

The Spitfires’ 2-1 victory over Basingstoke Town saw club skipper Glen Southam lifting the championship trophy alongside 90-year-old club founder Derik Brooks (pictured).

In head-to-head encounters this season, Fleet and Eastleigh shared the spoils, with both winning their home games 3-1, but the Spitfires haven’t looked back since eating away at Bromley’s lead at the top of the table.

Fleet boss Steve Brown, who tipped Eastleigh for the title in an interview last Christmas, said, “Eastleigh have been the best and most consistent team in the division this season and fully deserve their status as league champions. I would like to congratulate Richard Hill and his staff on their success.”

Fleet midfielder Daryl McMahon, who played for the Spitfires, tweeted, “Congrats to Eastleigh on promotion… Some great people at the club. Well deserved promotion.” Another who played for the Hampshire club was Osei Sankofa who shared his teammate’s opinion: “You must give credit when it’s due,” said Sankofa. “Congratulations to all involved at Eastleigh for winning the title this season.”


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkedin
Share on WhatsApp
Email this article

More News

match stats

Click to enlarge »

First-Team Squad