Congratulations Kenny! Player of the year!

Ebbsfleet United fans have voted Kenny Clark as their supporters’ player of the year for 2016/17.

With the poll taken at the last two home matches by the Fleet Supporters Trust, the central defender came top of the pile, ahead of Nathan Ashmore in second place.

It’s a richly deserved award for Kenny who has played in 43 league and cup matches for the Fleet this season, scoring five goals. He passed his 100-games milestone in January against former club Chelmsford and scored in the same match.

Since signing from Dartford in the summer of 2014, Kenny has clocked up 116 appearances and scored 11 goals and this season has also worked behind the scenes for the club’s community scheme.

Daryl McMahon was delighted for the defender on hearing the news, saying: “He’s been absolutely outstanding this season and he’s done it quietly as well. He’s grown so much as a player in the last two years: he sees so many players come into his position every season and he’s fought them all off and made sure he’s become a mainstay in the team. That’s down to his hard work and his dedication. He’s really bought into the club as well: that’s been key. He works hard on the community side for Ebbsfleet United and he’s someone you can constantly rely on.”

Another award presented annually is the Bruce Sewell Award, named for the Fleet’s late captain who passed away after battling motor neurone disease. It is always awarded to someone within the club who has gone above and beyond the call of duty. The Trust have this season decided to give it to Graham Major… better known to you all as Hooky!

John Burgess, chairman of the Trust, said: “This is to mark the great work done by Hooky both on match days and at Community events organised by the club. It is well deserved. Hooky will be presented with the award before the game by the vice chairman of the Fleet Supporters’ Trust, Sandra Saunders. Congratulations to Hooky!”


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkedin
Share on WhatsApp
Email this article

More News

match stats

Click to enlarge »

First-Team Squad